School Games Mark


Image result for school games mark

What is the School Games Mark?

The School Games Mark is a Government led awards scheme launched in 2012 to reward schools for their commitment to the development of competition across their school and into the community. Schools in England are able to assess themselves across bronze, silver and gold levels of the Mark. New for 2016-2017 was the introduction of the Platinum Mark which was awarded to schools who have achieved the School Games Mark gold for the past five consecutive years. In our area, Overleigh St Mary's CE and Waverton Primary Schools were the first schools to achieve this status.

All registered schools are able to apply for the Mark. The School Games Mark application window for 2018-2019 will open on 8th May 2019 and will close on 9th August 2019. To help with the application process, it helps to build up a file at the beginning of the year to show evidence of what you have done in your school. If you need assistance with the planning for the award, please contact your School Games Organiser. 

The School Games Mark criteria for 2018-2019 has now been released and you can view it below:

School_Games_Mark_CRITERIA -2018-19

Further information is available via the School Games dashboard, the customised content portal for all schools logged in to the website. (

Why should our school apply?

- OfSTED use the Mark award as part of their inspection framework.

- You can proudly display your certificate at your school.

- You can use it as a development tool to aid the PE teacher or Headteacher as your school.

- You can add the logo to letterheads and email signatures to show your outstanding commitment to school sport.

If you need assistance with your School Games Mark application, please contact your School Games Organiser. 

School Games Mark Awards for 2017-2018.

Congratulations to the following schools on your awards


Cherry Grove Primary School

JH Godwin Primary School

Saughall All Saints CE Primary School

The Firs School

Oldfield Primary School

Belgrave Primary School

Delamere Academy Primary School

Highfield Community Primary School

Acresfield Primary School

Hoole CE Primary School

Mickle Trafford Village School

St Clare's Catholic Primary School

Blacon High School

Christleton Primary School

Tarvin Primary School


Lache Primary School

Chester Blue Coat CE Primary School

Upton Heath CE Primary School

Mill View Primary School

Dorin Park School

St Martin's Academy

Guilden Sutton CE Primary School

St Theresa's Catholic Primary School

St Werburgh's & St Columba's Catholic Primary School

Bishop Heber High School

Upton Westlea Primary School


Saighton CE Primary School

Dodleston CE Primary School

Tattenhall Park Primary School

St Oswald's CE Primary School

Dee Banks School

Dee Point Primary School

Newton Primary School